New Brand Application

Apply Online

$45.00 per location

To apply, visit Kelly Solutions here.
After you submit a brand application, you will be notified if the brand is approved through an email with payment options.

NOTE: If applying from any smartphone, use the "Upload a New Brand Image" option instead of the "Draw a New Brand Image" option. Simply draw the brand on a piece of white paper, take a picture, and then upload the picture.

Apply through Postal Mail

$50.00 per location

Click here to print a new livestock brand application.

Make checks payable to the Kansas Brands Program.

New Brand Information

It is illegal in Kansas to brand any animal without first having the brand registered with the Kansas Division of Animal Health Department Brands Office. Brands are registered for a period of four years from the next April 1 which follows the date of issue.

When registering a brand in the name of a company or partnership, except for those that are incorporated, the names of all the people that make up the company need to be listed in the application. We will need all of the names involved.  

You may request Joint Tenancy with Rights to Survivorship (JTRS) when applying for a brand. We encourage this if there are two or more people in a partnership. We cannot issue JTRS if there is only one person listed on the application. You may also submit a signed statement, of all the partners involved, to request this for a brand currently registered.

A brand can be recorded to a trust, provided the names of the trustees are listed.

Upon registering a brand, it is important to always have a current address in the brand office, for both contact reasons if cattle have been stolen or strayed, and also to receive renewal notices. If a renewal notice is not received and returned because of a wrong address, the brand may get cancelled.

When a brand is applied to livestock carrying the brand of another, the new brand should never overlap the existing brand or brands. By law, a brand shall not be burned over, into or through, so as to disfigure or mutilate an existing brand. Any person who knowingly brands another person’s cattle with his brand or alters a brand is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment.

Brand Law does not specify the size of the branding iron. The size of each character or symbol is recommended to be approximately 3 1/2 to 4 inches at the highest and widest points, and the face of the iron at least 1/4 inch wide.

A small iron will not give a readable brand. A thin, burned up iron will cut too deeply or make a thin scar which covers with hair.

Branding a wet or damp animal will usually scald, leave a blotch, a bad sore or no brand at all.

The proper heat of an iron is the color of ashes. A red-hot iron starts a hair fire and usually results in a poor brand.

A hot iron should burn deeply enough to remove hair and the outer layer of skin. The hair should be clipped and removed before the hot iron is applied. When the iron is lifted, the brand should be the color of saddle leather.

Number brands for age, herd or serial number identification may be used in conjunction with a registered brand. The number brands must be applied at least six inches from the registered brand. A special permit from the Brands Office is required for using a number brand.

When branded livestock are purchased, it is desirable that the buyer obtain a bill of sale showing their right to possession of the livestock carrying a brand of another.

When branded livestock are purchased, it is desirable that the buyer obtain a bill of sale showing their right to possession of the livestock carrying a brand of another.

Kansas Brand Law states that a registered livestock brand is the personal property of the recorded owner and is handled the same as other personal property. The following examples are cases in which a transfer needs to be made by the current owner, executing a notarized bill of sale:

  • A registered brand owner wishes to sell their brand to another party.
  • When a person/s in a partnership wants to be dropped from or added to the brand registration. Ex: in a divorce, or a child going into business with their father.
  • A person/company changes to a corporation.
  • An individual wants to use the brand of a deceased brand owner.

The following are some suggestions that may slow a rustler down, or make their job a little more difficult:

  • Visit your pastures often.
  • Count cattle frequently.
  • Keep fences repaired.
  • Chain and lock gates and facilities.
  • Before leaving on a trip, ask neighbors to be observant.
  • Identify all animals with brands. Thieves will steal un-branded cattle first.

Never try to stop a theft in progress. Stay out of the area and call your sheriff immediately.

By law, stray animals shall be reported to the sheriff within 24 hours from the time they are first noticed on the premises. You may also notify the Brands Office of any missing, stray or stolen animals.


Brands can be…

registered in any of six locations: left hip, right hip, left rib, right rib, left shoulder or right shoulder. This means six different owners could have the same brand, but registered in different locations. Owners may record ear marks/notches in conjunction with the registration of a lawful brand.

applied using a hot iron or the freeze (cryogenic) method.

used on both cattle and horses, provided you brand them on the same location that your brand is registered for.


Brands cannot be…

single letters or characters. There must be two identifiable characters in the brand design.

single slanting or tumbling letters or numbers. They must be upright or lazy. (Lazy being 90 degree characters.)

two-digit brands. Kansas law has given licensed feedlots authority to use two digits as pen numbers.

crowns, or sunrises as they conflict with W’s. Ex: crown sunrise brand


When choosing a brand, it is discouraged to…

use brands that contain a letter, number or symbol within a closed area for hot iron branding. These brands tend to blotch and not be clearly read. The freeze method is able to brand these clearly, along with other brands that have more detail. Ex: Closed brands

use lower case letters, as they conflict with other characters.

use broken bars as there are so many variations and cause confusion.

use acid branding, which is usually unreadable. It may cause a bad sore and/or leave a scar and not a brand.