Pesticide Products

For the Kansas law associated with this area of our program, go to the Kansas Agricultural Chemical Act.

KDA is required by the Kansas Agricultural Chemical Act of 1947 to register all pesticides intended for agricultural and non-agricultural uses. This includes any substance or mixture of substances labeled, designed or intended for use in preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any insects, rodents, predatory animals, fungi, weeds, nematodes and other forms of plant or animal life or viruses, and any substance labeled, designed or intended for use as a defoliant, and any substance or mixture of substances, labeled, designed or intended for use as a plant regulator, or desiccant.

Kansas law does not require pesticide devices to be registered. All chemicals marketed with any pesticide claim must be registered in Kansas. This includes any chemical substances exempted from federal registration by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). All minimum risk or 25(b) pesticides require registration.

Product registration is January 1 – December 31. Products may be registered at any time throughout the year, however, fees are not prorated. The registration fee is $150 for antimicrobials and $180 for all other pesticides. A complete current market label plus any document referred to on the label or attached to the container, application, and fee is required for each product registration.  

New companies can email KDA.pestlabels@KS.gov  company and contact information in order to obtain access to the online portal. 

Pesticide Product Paper Form
A CD or USB in a searchable PDF format is preferred for labels associated with the paper form.

It is the responsibility of the registrant to submit revised labels before products are distributed.

  • FIFRA Section 24(c), Special Local Need (SLN) Registration

  • FIFRA Section 18, Emergency Exemption