About Us

Updated April 9, 2018


The Division of Conservation (DOC) administers the Conservation Districts' Law and other laws designed to assist local entities and individuals in conserving our natural resources. The State Conservation Commission serves as a program policy board consisting of five elected Commissioners; two ex officio members representing Kansas State University Research and Cooperative Extension; and two appointed members representing the Kansas Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service. The Kansas Department of Agriculture Secretary of Agriculture and  the State Conservation Commission Commissioners appoint an Executive Director to lead the efforts of the DOC. Additional staff provide program administration and agency support.

Mission Statement

The Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Conservation, works to protect and enhance Kansas' natural resources through the development, implementation, and maintenance of policies, guidelines, and programs designed to assist local governments and individuals in conserving the state's renewable resources.

Conservation Programs

Programs administered by the Kansas Department of Agriculture, Division of Conservation (DOC) include:

  • Aid to Conservation Districts
  • Water Resources Cost-Share Program
  • Non-Point Source Pollution Control Program
  • Riparian and Wetland Protection Program
  • Kansas Water Quality Buffer Initiative
  • Watershed Dam Construction Program
  • Multipurpose Small Lakes Program
  • Water Rights Purchase Program
  • Water Rights Transition Assistance Program
  • Water Supply Restoration Program
  • Surface-Mining Land Conservation and Reclamation Program