Industrial Hemp Research Program

Regulations to guide the Industrial Hemp Research Program in Kansas have been submitted to the Kansas Register for publication. We expect them to be published on Jan. 24, and they will become effective 15 days following their publication, on Feb. 8. At that time, applications for a license to participate in the Industrial Hemp Research Program as a grower, processor or distributor will be available here on this website.

Regulations for Industrial Hemp Research Program

The proposed regulations for the Industrial Hemp Research Program have been reviewed by the appropriate entities, triple stamped, and subject to a public hearing. They have been prepared for publication in the Kansas Register. These regulations were developed by KDA in consultation with the industrial hemp advisory board and with input from the public.

You can review the proposed regulations here:
Industrial Hemp Research Program Regulations 
Economic Impact Statement
Approved Varieties

Questions about the proposed regulations, economic impact statement or approved varieties list can be sent to

Program Information

Governor Jeff Colyer, M.D. signed Senate Bill 263 on April 20, which enacts the Alternative Crop Research Act allowing the Kansas Department of Agriculture to oversee the cultivation of industrial hemp in a research program. KDA has begun the process of developing rules and regulations to guide the Alternative Crop Research Act, which included an open dialogue and information exchange at a public forum May 11. Content from that forum is included on this page. 

The opportunity to grow a new specialty oilseed crop in Kansas offers potential for diversification for Kansas farmers looking for an alternative crop, or for new farming enterprises interested in cultivating industrial hemp. The Kansas agriculture industry has developed a statewide strategic growth plan in recent years, and is committed to pursuing new and innovative opportunities to grow agriculture. The research generated by participants of this new industrial hemp program will be valuable data in identifying the growth potential offered in this sector.

The 2014 Farm Bill included a section to allow for universities and state departments of agriculture to begin cultivating industrial hemp for purposes of research, provided that the growing and cultivating of industrial hemp is allowed under state law. Industrial hemp is defined by SB 263 as all parts and varieties of the plant cannabis sativa L that contain a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of no more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.