Noxious Weed Control Program

Musk thistle flower Noxious weeds are one of the greatest threats to the 
Kansas  environment because they displace native plant species, interfere with the production of agricultural crops, increase erosion, destroy wildlife habitat and decrease property values.

The Kansas Department of Agriculture administers the state Noxious Weed Law.  The State Weed Specialist and Noxious Weed Control Program provide technical assistance to individual landowners, state and federal agencies as well as other companies and organizations that manage land in our great state.

Kansas Noxious Weeds

There are 12 plant species designated as noxious weeds in Kansas.  Other species may be  designated as county option weeds. Check with your County Weed Department to find out if any other species have been designated as noxious in your county.

Kansas Noxious Weed List

Category A Weeds
These weeds are generally not found in the state or are found limited in distribution throughout the state and shall be subject to exclusion from the state or active eradication wherever detected statewide, in order to protect neighboring lands and the state as a whole.

Category B Weeds
These weeds have discrete distributions throughout the state and shall be subject to control wherever populations have become established within the state and subject to active eradication wherever populations are not established.

Category C Weeds
These weeds are well-established within the state and known to exist in larger or more extensive populations in the state.  New populations shall be subject to control efforts directed at reducing or eliminating those populations and known and established populations of Category C noxious weeds shall be managed by any approved control method.

County Option Noxious Weeds
The Kansas Noxious Weed Act allows for counties to declare, with approval of the Secretary of Agriculture, species of plants to be noxious in their county (K.S.A. 2-1314).

Nominate a Species for Consideration as a Noxious Weed in Kansas
If you know of an exotic invasive plant that you feel should be listed as a noxious weed, you may request that species be considered for listing by the Noxious Weed Advisory Committee.

Noxious Weeds Survey Data

Kansas Noxious Weed Law and Regulations

The Noxious Weed Law was established to protect landowners from the encroachment of noxious weeds from neighboring lands.  Since it was enacted in 1937, it has been revised and imporoved upon several times, resulting in today's version.

Federal Noxious Weed Quarantine
The Kansas Noxious Weed Law and Regulations


Noxious Weed Advisory Committee

  • Membership

  • Responsibilities

Controlling Noxious Weeds

The Kansas Noxious Weed Law requires that all people, which includes the private landowners, state, counties, townships, cities, and their agencies, boards and departments, any companies or corporations that own or manage land, control the spread of and eradicate any noxious weeds on any land the own or supervise, and to use the official methods approved and adopted by the secretary. These methods will be based on the most current available science and will include, if applicable, control and eradication methods from each of the Integrated Weed Management, including biological, chemical, cultural, and mechanical methods of control and eradication. 

Official Noxious Weed Control Programs

County Option Noxious Weeds

2020 County Noxious Weed Annual Reports

Allen County
Anderson County
Atchison County
Barber County
Barton County
Bourbon County
Brown County
Butler County
Chase County
Chautauqua County
Cherokee County
Cheyenne County
Clark County
Clay County
Cloud County
Coffey County
Comanche County
Cowley County
Crawford County
Decatur County
Dickinson County
Doniphan County
Douglas County
Edwards County
Elk County
Ellis County
Ellsworth County
Finney County
Ford County
Franklin County
Geary County
Gove County
Graham County
Grant County
Gray County
Greeley County
Greenwood County
Hamilton County
Harper County
Harvey County
Haskell County
Hodgeman County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Jewell County
Johnson County
Kearny County
Kingman County
Kiowa County
Labette County
Lane County
Leavenworth County

Lincoln County
Linn County
Logan County
Lyon County
McPherson County
Marion County
Marshall County
Meade County
Miami County
Mitchell County
Montgomery County
Morris County
Morton County
Nemaha County
Neosho County
Ness County
Norton County
Osage County
Osborne County
Ottowa County
Pawnee County
Phillips County
Pottowatomie County
Pratt County
Rawlins County
Reno County
Republic County
Rice County
Riley County
Rooks County
Rush County
Russell County
Saline County
Scott County
Sedgwick County
Seward County
Shawnee County
Sheridan County
Sherman County
Smith County
Stafford County
Stanton County
Stevens County
Sumner County
Thomas County
Trego County
Wabaunsee County
Wallace County
Washington County
Wichita County
Wilson County
Woodson County
Wyandotte County

Noxious and Invasive Weed Newsletters

Noxious and Invasive Weed Newsletters

Expand all

Collapse all


Noxious and Invasive Weed Resources


Scott Marsh
Weeds and Seed Specialist

785-207-2118 (M)