

Dam Permit Requirements

Does my dam need a permit?

With the exception of federal reservoirs, the Division of Water Resources regulates the construction, operation and maintenance of all dams or other water obstructions, as required by state statutes and regulations for the protection of landowners and public safety. If your dam is 25 feet or more in height, or six feet in height or greater with the ability to store 50 acre-feet of water measured from the auxiliary spillway top, you need a dam permit if planning to build or modify the dam. Dams outside these parameters might still need a permit for stream obstructions, which is any project or structure constructed in a designated stream.



Include these with your permit application:

Complete maps, plans, profiles and specifications Any other data and information that the chief engineer may require

Required permit fee: \$200

You may also need:

Water Rights permit, 0-25 acre-feet (\$200); more than 250 acre-feet (\$200), plus \$20 for each additional 250 acre-feet
Water Structures permit
Construction permits from county and local government
Corps of Engineers permit
Storm water run-off permit from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment

The chief engineer approves all dam applications, including plans and specifications. Incomplete applications are returned to applicants for re-submission.

Kansas Department of Agriculture | 1320 Research Park Drive | Manhattan, KS 66502 | (785) 564-6650