1320 Research Park Drive Manhattan, KS 66502 785-564-6700 www. agriculture.ks.gov



900 SW Jackson, Room 456 Topeka, KS 66612 785-296-3556

Mike Beam, Secretary

Laura Kelly, Governor

MINUTES OF THE STATE CONSERVATION COMMISSION

1. The State Conservation Commission meeting was called to order by Rod Vorhees, Chairman and Area V Commissioner at 1:32 p.m., Friday, December 22, 2023, at the Kansas Department of Agriculture, 1320 Research Park Drive, Manhattan, KS 66502.

2. ATTENDANCE:

Elected Commissioners:

Ted Nighswonger, Area I Commissioner Jed Fleske, Area II Commissioner Sam Sanders, Area III Commissioner John Wunder, Area IV Commissioner Rod Vorhees, Area V Commissioner

Ex-Officio & Appointed Members:

Terry Medley, P.E., Water Structures Program Manager, Division of Water Resources, Kansas Department of Agriculture

Division of Conservation, Kansas Department of Agriculture Staff:

Steve Frost, Acting Director
Dave Jones, Water Quality Program Manager
Kristin Kloft, Riparian & Wetland Program Manager
Cathy Thompson, Program Consultant
Marsha Setzkorn-Meyer, Conservation District Program Coordinator
Monica Wichman, Grants Coordinator
Christy Koelzer, Administrative Specialist

Guests:

Mike Beam, Kansas Secretary of Agriculture Kelsey Olson, Deputy Secretary Kansas Department of Agriculture

3. NEW BUSINESS:

- a. State Water Plan Funding Update Beam
 - i. Secretary Mike Beam informed the commissioners funds allocated for dam rehabilitation will be processed through the DOC. The additional State Water Plan funding will be awarded through cost share and is for all dams including watershed district dams. Existing statutes pertaining to dam cost share give lenience to include other dams and for the cost share cap to be increased. The State Water Plan funds allocated for dams for FY24 will be announced in early 2024. KDA will consider updating the related statutes to make these changes permanent as it appears the intent of the legislature will be to continue with increased allocations.

A motion was made by John Wunder to enter executive session for five minutes to discuss personnel matters. The motion was seconded by Ted Nighswonger. Motion carried. No action was taken during the executive session.

Following the executive session, a motion was made by Ted Nighswonger to support KDA in pursuing the top candidate for the Executive Director position. The motion was seconded by Jed Fleske. Motion carried.

4. ADJOURNMENT:

The next SCC meeting will be held January 29, 2024. The meeting was adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

Steve Frost

Acting Director

Stumpest