Kansas Grape and Wine Industry Advisory Council


The Grape and Wine Industry Advisory Council, a statutory body (K.S.A. 74-551-74-553), was established during the 1988 legislative session and reorganized in 2012. No fewer than nine members will be appointed to two-year terms and will advise the secretary of agriculture, and other state agencies, on strategies needed to support and grow the state’s grape and wine industries. Members of the council will represent the commercial grape growing industry, licensed farm winery industry, wine distributors and wholesalers industries, the retail liquor store industry and the agri-tourism industry. In 2012, the legislature tasked the council with developing a plan to become independent of state oversight by July 1, 2016.


Current Board Members

Chad Lohman
Nespor's Wine & Spirits
Licensed Retail Liquor Industry
Store Owner
Dan Lemmon
World Wide Wine & Spirits
Licensed Wine Distributor or Wholesaler

Ron Seeber
Kansas Grain and Feed Association
Marketing or Business Development Expertise

Jo Ann Kuhlmann
Eagle Creek Vineyards
Kansas Grape Growers &
Winemakers Association

Bob DesRuisseaux
Prairie Fire Winery
Kansas Grape Growers &
Winemakers Association

Justin B. Johnson
Golden Road Estate Vineyard
Kansas Viticulture & Farm
Winery Association
Greg Shipe
Davenport Orchard, Vineyard & Winery
Kansas Viticulture and Farm
Winery Association
Julie Berggren
KC Pumpkin Patch
Registered Agritourism

Scott Kohl
Highland Community College
Higher Education Institution